Campus Corner: Unprecedented Student Attendance

More than 2,000 students from 449 campuses in all 50 states and the District of Columbia have come together in the nation's capital for AIPAC Policy Conference 2013. There are more student delegates at this year's conference than at any other event in AIPAC's history.

Also included in this record-breaking group are 242 student government presidents representing every state. These elected student leaders, known as the Geller Student Government Association Presidents, hail from an eclectic array of campuses, including Brown University, UC Berkeley, Morehouse College, the University of Florida and Colorado Christian University.

In addition to joining community delegates for plenaries, breakout sessions and the gala, student delegates will participate in a variety of special events. One highlight is the AIPAC Campus Awards Dinner, which honors exceptional pro-Israel students and campus professionals for their work over the past year. This year, the awards dinner will feature musical performances, motivational speakers and dance troupes in addition to the award presentations.

Other campus-related events include an African American Leadership Luncheon, a meet-and-greet event for the 2013 Friedman Scholars of Yeshiva University, a High School Fair featuring AIPAC campus activists from major colleges and universities, and a college seniors reception with AIPAC's top young community activists from across the country.

PC delegates interested in learning more about pro-Israel activism on campus can attend one of the breakout sessions today on the topic: "Israel on Campus: Creating Tomorrow's Leaders" and "The Struggle to Secure Israel on Campus: 1956–2016."

Both forums feature AIPAC Leadership Development Director Jonathan Kessler, who will examine the trends most important to the pro-Israel movement on campus. The first session showcases several of AIPAC's top campus activists; the second features the David Project, Christians United for Israel and the Vanguard Leadership Group.